Free PHP ShoutBox Script V 20 - php Form

Author Topic: Free PHP ShoutBox Script V 20  (Read 31123 times)

Offline boyfrom75

  • VIP
  • ****
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ShoutBox 20
« Reply #45 on: October 29, 2010, 11:37:12 PM »
Im going to post a step by step... " how to install and setup database for this script to work "
In few days when I have time..

Is not easy if you are doing for the first time, because there are not indications for installation of this script..

It took me few hours to make it to work..
It was my first time seating up a SQL database..
I think if you have cPanel or a very nice hosting company will be easy to install..
I have cPanel... so I dont have to much problems like some peoples..
Some hosting companies dont support this service..  1and1.com is one of them.. There are to simple.. good for amateurs only
cPanel is the best...  ;D

Offline boyfrom75

  • VIP
  • ****
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ShoutBox 20
« Reply #46 on: October 30, 2010, 12:14:19 AM »
hERE ARE THE INDICATIONS   "HOW TO SETUP THE DATABASE AND ISTALLATION OF THIS SCRIPT
"

Offline leony

  • VIP
  • ****
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ShoutBox 20
« Reply #47 on: October 30, 2010, 12:45:45 AM »
Very useful. Thanks

Offline diggster

  • Supporter
  • **
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ShoutBox 20
« Reply #48 on: November 24, 2010, 01:23:21 PM »
hello i am new to php and i have installed all  and it using my database but where the shoutbox iframe is  all i see is a white border no shoutbox any ideas  :) thanks in advance

Offline cilipe

  • VIP
  • ****
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ShoutBox 20
« Reply #49 on: November 25, 2010, 05:37:53 AM »
frame path is:
Quote
<IFRAME style="border:1px solid #cccccc;" SRC="path_to_shoutbox_folder/code.php" WIDTH=230 HEIGHT=440></iframe>

Offline spectre505

  • Supporter
  • **
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ShoutBox 20
« Reply #50 on: November 29, 2010, 09:12:20 AM »
Havnt really dug through the source code much but i got it up and running and it works great! tyvm. Just wondering is there a refresh rate on the box so one doesnt have to reload the page to see new posts?

Offline ElRanska

  • Supporter
  • **
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ShoutBox 20
« Reply #51 on: December 22, 2010, 05:14:32 AM »
Hi,

Thank for this code. It is very good and very flexible.
Only a thing I would find and I tried to do (in an unsuccessful way) is a archive page.
That people can navigate in the older messages (when the configured limit is past).

Elie

Offline alex

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 77
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • View Profile
Archive Page ShoutBox 20
« Reply #52 on: December 22, 2010, 08:16:33 AM »
1. In shout.php:

Code: [Select]
</form>
Delete that row and replace it with the following:


Code: [Select]
</form>
<a href="archive.php" target="_blank">Archive</a>

2. Upload archive.php and class.paging.php(Developed By: Khurram Adeeb Noorani, http://www.visualcv.com/kanoorani). :) :)
« Last Edit: December 22, 2010, 11:54:05 PM by alex »

Offline ElRanska

  • Supporter
  • **
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ShoutBox 20
« Reply #53 on: December 22, 2010, 08:34:33 AM »
Thank you.
I will try that.

Elie

Offline vbwarrior

  • Supporter
  • **
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ShoutBox 20
« Reply #54 on: January 07, 2011, 06:57:19 PM »
I have a hosting account which has a separate serve site how can I implement in the code to direct the server queries to a different location than root? I'm great at vb not so much with php!

Offline vbwarrior

  • Supporter
  • **
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ShoutBox 20
« Reply #55 on: January 07, 2011, 09:03:59 PM »
Well this is how I solved my own issue. If there is a more efficient way or more secure someone please let me know.

Code: [Select]
$link = mysql_connect("database_server_name", "Username", "UserPass", true);
$db=mysql_select_db("db_name", $link);
$resulty = mysql_query("SELECT commid, text, date, text1 FROM comment ORDER BY date DESC LIMIT $temp", $link)
or die(mysql_error());
while($row=mysql_fetch_array($resulty)){
$cctext = $row['text'];
$cctext = stripslashes ($cctext);

Offline flipwilson

  • Supporter
  • **
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Hello,

I am ok with php and do know some so I would say I’m not a newbe to php scripts but not a pro! I can log into the admin just fine and it seams to be working good in the admin area. But when I go to the Iframe page (index.php) with the code (<IFRAME style="border:1px solid #cccccc;" SRC="domain.com/shoutbox/script/shoutbox/code.php" WIDTH=230 HEIGHT=440></iframe>) on it here’s what I'm getting.

I see the shoutbox Iframe and it seams that most everything is there but when I type a Name in and then type a message and press submit it keeps telling me

"Invalid Characters: Go Back" (at the top is has HTML NOT ALLOWED)

Also the icon images are not showing up, (just an X image) the path is right as I do see them in the folder online and can go to them in a new window using the url path, don't know why there not showing in the shoutbox area?

Can you help me get this running right, would like to see it?

Thanks for all the support!
Flipwilson  8)

Offline alex

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 77
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Free PHP ShoutBox Script V 20
« Reply #57 on: May 04, 2011, 12:51:06 PM »
Hi flipwilson.

Find this code(shout.php):
Code: [Select]
if(preg_match("/%/", $name)) {
echo "<center><div id=\"toprow\">Invalid Characters \"%\" </div>";
Die();
}
if(preg_match("/;/", $name)) {
echo "<center><div id=\"toprow\">Invalid Characters \";\" </div>";
Die();
}
if(preg_match("/</", $name)) {
echo "<center><div id=\"toprow\">Invalid Characters \"<\" HTML is not allowed";
Die();
}
if(preg_match("/\\[/", $name)) {
echo "<center><div id=\"toprow\">Invalid Characters \"[\" BB code is not allowed";
Die();
}


And replace with this:
Code: [Select]
if(preg_match('#[^a-zA-Z0-9\s\;\.\-\,\?\!\@]#', $name)){
echo "<center><div id=\"toprow\">..letters and numbers only."; 
 Die();
}

Offline flipwilson

  • Supporter
  • **
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
hey thanks Alex, works fine. I was wounding if I can change the error message that you get when you don't type anything in and press shout. Its at the bottom now but when theirs a lot of message posted already then most will miss the error message unless they scroll all the way down to read it, so can you show me what code I would need to cut out and paste it at the top above the username input field? This way anyone can see the error message if they get it!

Great script, Great support, Thanks!
Flipwilson  8)

Offline ciko

  • Contributor
  • *****
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • phpenter.net
Find this:
Code: [Select]
#toprow {
width: 100%;
overflow:hidden;
background-color: lightyellow;
border-top: 1px solid #fff;
position: fixed;
top: 0;
left: 0;
right: 0;
color:#000;
z-index: 1000;
font-size:10px;
opacity:0.6;
}
Replace with:
Code: [Select]
#toprow {
width: 100%;
overflow:hidden;
background-color: lightyellow;
border-top: 1px solid #fff;
position: absolute;
top: 0px;
left: 0;
right: 0;
color:#000;
z-index: 1000;
font-size:10px;
opacity:0.6;
}
:)